Section Awards

Sidney Lezak Award

The Sidney Lezak Award for Excellence in ADR was created by the ADR Section in 1996, and awarded to Sidney Lezak at the Section’s Annual meeting that year. The award is designed to acknowledge excellence in the field of Alternative Dispute Resolution, and is bestowed by the Section when an individual should be recognized for those efforts. Recipients have been:

2016 – Judy S. Henry
Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1983
Director, Oregon Appellate Court Settlement Conference Program

2015 – Jacqueline Abel
Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1990
Mediation Coordinator, Multnomah County Courthouse

2014 – No awards given

2013 – Honorable Susan M. Leeson
Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1982

Staff Mediator, Oregon Federal District Court 

2012 – Jane Gordon
Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1980
Associate Dean for Student and Program AffairsUniversity of Oregon School of Law

2011 – Josh Kadish
Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1980
Wyse Kadish LLP
A Conversation with Master Mediator Josh Kadish

2010 – Samuel J. Imperati
Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1979
Executive Director, Institute for Conflict Management, Inc.

2008 – Bryan Johnston

2006 – James C. Melamed

Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1983
Oregon Mediation Center, Inc.

2005 – John Gartland

Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1977
Doyle Gartland Nelson McCleery and Wade, PC

2003 – Judge Edward Leavy

Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1953
Senior US Circuit Court Judge for the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals

2000 – Judge Kristena A. LaMar

Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1973
Multnomah County Circuit Court Judge

1998 – R. Elaine Hallmark

Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1976
President, Hallmark Pacific Group LLC

1996 – Sidney I. Lezak

Admitted to Oregon State Bar 1949
Of Counsel, Newcomb, Sabin, Schwartz & Newcomb

Interdisciplinary Cooperation Award

The Interdisciplinary Cooperation Award was created in 2003 to recognize the efforts of ADR professionals who are not members of the Oregon State Bar, but who work cooperatively with attorneys, judges and court administrators toward the core values held by members of the Section. Recipients have been:

2012 – Courthouse staff throughout Oregon working on mediation and arbitration programs

2010 – Amy Cleary
Program Coordinator for Community Dispute Resolution Services, Clackamas County Family Court Services

2006 – Cynthia Moore
Executive Director of the Oregon Mediation Association

2003 – Shannon L. Stewart (deceased)
Mediation Coordinator for Small Claims and F.E.D. Mediation for Multnomah County 1988-2003

Carlton B. Snow Award for Excellence in Arbitration

The Carlton B. Snow award is designed to recognize an Oregon attorney who exemplifies excellence, contributions and broad experience in many aspects of arbitration and who has made a significant impact either in the field of arbitration or on practitioners and parties involved in arbitrations.

2012 – Honorable Edward J. Jones
Admitted to the Oregon State Bar 1975

Multnomah County Circuit Court

2006 – James J. Damis
Admitted to the Oregon State Bar 1962
Executive Director, Arbitration Service of Portland

2005 Carlton B. Snow (deceased)
Professor of Law, Willamette University School of Law, and Arbitrator